Loading Events

Events

Elizabeth Hand + Grady Hendrix: Hokuloa Road

August 11, 7 pm8 pm.
$5 – $28
rev-8-11-22 HOKULOA ROAD1200 x 628 copy 9_2x

Join us for an in-person event with New York Times notable and multiple award–winning author Elizabeth Hand for a discussion of her latest novel Hokuloa Road. Joining Elizabeth Hand in conversation is best-selling author, journalist and screenwriter Grady Hendrix. This event will be hosted in the Strand Book Store’s 3rd floor Rare Book Room at 828 Broadway on 12th Street.

 

STRAND IN-PERSON EVENT COVID-19 POLICY:

In-person events will be presented to a fully vaccinated and maskedaudience. All patrons over the age of five will be required to show proof* of having completed the COVID-19 vaccination series at least 14 days prior to the date of the event.

*Proof of vaccination will be defined as either an original vaccination card, Excelsior Pass or its equivalent. We will be checking to ensure compliance with the 14 day waiting period post-vaccination.

Registration will be required online. No tickets for entry will be sold at the door.

——————————————————————–

A young man is drawn into the dark side of paradise in this haunting and “perfectly crafted” mystery (Grady Hendrix), about the eerie secrets of one Hawai’ian island—and the lengths some will go to keep them.

On a whim, Grady Kendall applies to work as a live-in caretaker for a luxury property in Hawaiʻi, as far from his small-town Maine life as he can imagine. Within days he’s flying out to an estate on remote Hokuloa Road, where he quickly uncovers a dark side to the island’s idyllic reputation: it has long been a place where people vanish without a trace.

When a young woman from his flight becomes the next to disappear, Grady is determined—and soon desperate—to figure out what’s happened to Jessie, and to all those staring out of the island’s “missing” posters. But working with Raina, Jessie’s fiercely protective best friend, to uncover the truth is anything but easy, and with an inexplicable and sinister presence stalking his every step, Grady can only hope he’ll find the answer before it’s too late.

Perfect for fans of Peter Heller and The White Lotus, and from award-winning writer Elizabeth Hand, a master of crime fiction known for her magnetic characters, seductive prose, and fearless excavations into the darkest corners of our world, comes a chilling and illuminating new novel about a place unlike any other—and the deadly cost of keeping it so.

More from Around NYC